导航
搜索
简体中文
  • English
  • Português
预约参观申请
  • English
  • Português

何为研学计划?

如何通过爱文研学计划找到自己的热情所在

作者 | 爱文纽约中学部主任 Todd Shy

研学计划是爱文高中课程的一个重要组成部分,也体现了学校矢志培养“因具有自己挚爱的专长而充满自信”的毕业生的承诺——正如其使命宣言中所阐述的那样。该计划旨在给学生提供参与他们特别感兴趣的某个领域的活动或研究的机会,并在这个过程中给予支持和引导。

2014 年 9 月 3 日,Todd Shy 老师(原研学计划主任,现高强度写作训练课程专家)在爱文高中生的第一次集会上发表了如下演讲,并首次介绍了研学计划。

“什么是爱文研学计划?首先它是基于这样的理论,即兴趣是最好的老师。这听上去似乎很简单——当我们真正在乎我们所学的东西时,我们会学得更好。显然,你在学校学习的所有东西都很重要。你的老师选择这份艰难的职业并不是因为他们喜欢给你施加很重的压力,看看你到底能承受多少。不过在这里我要告诉大家关于学校的一个秘密:你在这里做的所有事情都很重要,但是对你而言,它们各自的重要性并不完全相同。而这没什么,也很正常,因为人生只有一次,你不能做所有的事情,更不可能精通所有的东西。教育的一个重要意义就在于帮你找到你真正在乎和热爱的东西,使你感觉它是你密不可分的一部分,而不是别人要求你去做的东西。我们称此为“内在驱动力”。你的动力源自内心。简单来说,也就是找到能让你感受到生命和这个世界一起律动的东西。当它开始在你心里扎根生长时,你会知道这是真正的热情,真正的投入,甚至是你的一部分,是真正的你。

为了帮助我们认识热情为何物,一位作家用“星期六早晨法则”来说明:在一个没有任何计划和安排,没有任何限制和要求的闲暇的星期六早晨,你会做什么?你会用这些时间来做什么?一个不幸的人可能一件事情也想不出来,也许就是打开电视或随便上上网。一个幸运的人则抽出她开始创作已久的故事或剧本,虽然她也不知道要如何继续,但是她却不能不尝试。另一个幸运的人则进入车库,继续打造他精心设计的冲浪板、高尔夫推杆或建筑模型。又一个幸运的人则去到自然历史博士馆看一个展出,虽然她也不知道自己要做什么,但是天文学就是非常吸引她;她想看天文馆的一部新片,虽然她也不知道这有什么意义,但她就是感兴趣。或许你就是在翻书或做白日梦或跑步,你也是在找寻。你在路上,你在旅途中。即使你不知道你要去哪里,你在行动。某股力量在拉着你往前,而你因此跟着往前。

我最近读了有关梵高的一篇文章。说到梵高,我们总是想到我们在纽约现代艺术博物馆看到的这些天才晚期的众多杰作,但事实上早期他也要先学会画画。在给他弟弟的一封信中,他描述了自己一个下午在森林里画一堆泥土的情形。梵高一生过得很艰辛。他总是很穷,经常需要跟他弟弟借钱。但是在他的星期六早晨,他却在画一堆不起眼的泥土。有一次,他在那里已经画了很久,突然下起了雷阵雨,而他还是继续画了至少一个小时。在给他弟弟的信中,梵高写到:“我不想停下来,于是我躲在一颗大树后面继续画着。”且撇开在暴风雨中躲在树下是否明智的话题不谈,梵高如此热切地想要继续画土,并选择在雨中避雨,这不得不让人赞叹。“星期六早晨法则”的问题对他应该轻而易举。

如果你的生活由类似这样的片段组成,这意味着你找到了你的热情所在。研学计划的美及其使命在于——如果我们足够幸运的话——就是帮助你发现那些你深深热爱的、吸引你在毫无计划的星期六早晨去做的、使一场雷阵雨显得微不足道的、让你尽情忘我地投入的兴趣爱好。这是多么美好的一件事情。在你所有的学习当中——所有的都很重要,我们想要支持你去追求那个你最在乎的东西。而你如果足够幸运的话,会找到自己的热情所在,甚至感觉那是命中注定,它可能会在你的人生中扮演重要角色,或至少会在你的爱文舞台上大显身手。

这不只是关乎申请大学时的成绩单——尽管我们认为好的研学计划可以给你的申请加分;这更是关乎你想要成为什么样的人和你想要什么样的人生,你是否会成为那个幸运的内心有着热情之火的人——不管是大火、小火还是火花,而不是那个绞尽脑汁也想不出来要在星期六早晨做什么的人。成人的世界里满是迷失的人,因为他们从来没有找到这个问题的答案。也许人人厌恶的中年危机只是人们寻找一个研学项目的迟到的尝试。

这就是研学计划背后的思考。发现有意义的东西,追寻它,带着深度和疯狂的热情追寻它。最高水平的研学计划会是有深度的项目、作品集或演出,或展现你追寻旅程的研学实验。这些项目或实验会包括很多的体验,很多和人、书、电影或其他媒体的互动,甚至和其他文化的互动——比如中国,你的研学计划的最终成果应该能展示你全身心投入一个事物的过程。告诉我们你的旅程,不管它是关乎政治、鞋子设计、剧本创作、创业,还是音乐制作、电影制作、社区参与、宇宙学、数学,或是我们无法想象的需要你跟我们细细讲述的独特的跨学科项目。什么东西让你站在雨中,让你星期六早晨从床上爬起来,让你长时间全神贯注?请跟我们分享。我们肯定会惊叹不已——不过对此你很可能无所谓,因为对你来说最好的奖励莫过于追寻的过程和呈现你热爱的这个东西的过程。

我想我说的应该已经够多了。学校非常期待开展研学计划,我也很期待。这是爱文给你们提供的很棒的机会。我还记得我在高中时第一次意识到自己想要成为作家时的情形。那时我觉得我正在读的小说比世界上的任何东西都重要,它们对我而言是另一个平面的存在。我开始用全新的视角看这个世界,而这让我激动不已。我是个好学生,我没有落下任何功课;但是每次一有时间或机会,我就在读小说,而不是攻读经济学或科学。记得有一次我带着《白鲸》这本书去参加一个婚礼,只为能够在婚礼前阅读。我内心感觉有什么东西在涌动,我完全不知道该怎么办。而在你们感觉内心有东西在涌动、感觉那可能会是什么有意思的东西——哪怕你并不知道那是什么时,爱文研学计划会给你们提供空间、支持和建议。这很可能是我接受这份工作的原因。发生在我高中时代的最重要的事情就是我发现了小说的力量。可惜我当时没有参与这样的研学计划的机会。你们热爱的东西可能不同,但是我们可以给那小小的火苗提供更多的氧气,这就是我们想为你们做的。希望在接下来的几年里某个星期六的早晨,你会站在中央公园的大雨中盯着一堆泥土思考如何把它画下来。”

了解更多

加入爱文,在这里找到属于您的未来,让我们一起重新定义世界各地的K-12教育

从位于三大洲的爱文校区,了解全球教育的最新动态

查看我们的联系方式——包括爱文总部和全球各个校区

回到顶部

爱文总部

了解更多

粤ICP备19019923号-1

Menu
EnglishLanguage select dropdown
  • Português
  • 简体中文
VisitApply
Menu bar
Language select: globe
  • Português
  • 简体中文

Why Mastery?

By Todd Shy, Head of Upper Division at Avenues New York

The Mastery program is a key component of the Avenues Upper School curriculum and is a reflection of the school’s commitment to graduating students who, as outlined in the mission statement, are “confident because they excel in a particular passion.” The goal of the program is to allow students the opportunity to engage in a field of activity or study that is of particular interest to them and to provide support and guidance as they pursue those passions.

Teacher Todd Shy (who was then the Director of the Mastery Program and is now head of the Upper Division) inaugurated the Mastery program in this speech to Upper School students at their first assembly on September 3, 2014:

“What is the Avenues mastery program? At its simplest level, it begins with the belief that all of us learn the most when we care about what we’re learning. That seems so simple. We learn the most about what we care about the most. Now, obviously, all of our learning is important. Your teachers aren’t in this tough job because they enjoy piling huge burdens on you—testing your shoulders like a game show stunt to see how much you can hold before you buckle. But, here’s a little secret about school: if all the things you do here are important, they’re not equally important to you, and that is not only okay, it’s how it has to be, because you get your one life, and you can’t do everything with it. You certainly can’t master everything. Part of your education is figuring out what, in the midst of all your obligations, you really care about and are energized by such that it starts to feel like something that’s part of you and about you, not just something we’re asking you to do. We sometimes call this intrinsic motivation. You’re motivated from the inside. I’d call it very simply, figuring out what makes you feel alive and engaged in the world. And when that thing begins to grow inside you, it starts to feel like real passion, real investment. It even starts to feel like identity, who you really are.

One writer, trying to help us see what passion like this looks like, framed it as the Saturday morning rule: What do you do when you have an unplanned, unorganized Saturday morning free, and there aren’t any restrictions or demands on you—what do you want to do with that time? The unlucky person can’t think of a single thing. The unlucky person just turns on the TV or logs on to random web sites. The lucky person pulls out the pages of a story or screenplay on which she’s been working and can’t quite figure out how to move forward but can’t stand not to try. Or the lucky person goes into the garage and works on the surfboard he’s been designing and crafting, or the golf putter, or the model of a building. Or the lucky person heads off to an exhibit at the Natural History Museum because, while she isn’t quite sure what to do with it, something about astronomy fascinates her like nothing else, and she wants to see a new film at the planetarium, even though she has no idea to what it might lead or to what it connects. She’s just interested. Or whatever else, right? Or maybe you’re browsing books or letting yourself daydream or running, but still you’re after something. You’re on the way. You’re starting your journey. Even if you’re not sure where you’re going, you’re moving. Something is pulling you forward, and you respond to it.

I was reading recently about Vincent van Gogh. We think of the genius pouring out those incredible late paintings like the ones at MoMA, but in earlier years, he had to learn how to draw. And in a letter to his brother he described an afternoon out in the woods making sketches of dug-up earth. Van Gogh had a tough life. He was always broke, always hitting up his brother for money. But on his Saturday morning, he was out sketching piles of brown and gray earth. He’d been there sketching for quite a while one time when a violent thunderstorm struck, and it went on for at least an hour. In a letter to his brother, Van Gogh wrote this: “I was so keen to resume work that I stayed at my post and sheltered myself as well as I could behind a large tree.” Setting aside for the moment the wisdom of standing against a tree in a thunderstorm, it’s lovely to think of Van Gogh there, eager to get back to drawing chunks of earth, waiting out the rain in the rain. The Saturday morning rule for him would be a no-brainer.

The power of a life filled with a sense of real engagement like this is the beginning of real passion. The beauty of the mastery program, if we’re lucky—the mission of the mastery program—is to take seriously your quest to discover an interest that holds you deeply over a long period of time, that draws you to do it on that Saturday morning when nothing is scheduled, that makes a thunderstorm insignificant, that allows you to be happily lost in an activity or a function. What a gorgeous thing that is. In the midst of all you have to learn here—and all of it is important—we want to support your quest to find that thing that matters most, and that, if you’re lucky, begins to feel like a passion and maybe a calling, and that may play a big part in shaping your life, or that at least shapes this stage of your life—the Avenues stage.

This isn’t just about what kind of transcript you’re going to have when you apply to college—although we do think you can make yourself look impressive with a thoughtful mastery experiment; this is about what kind of person you want to be and what kind of trajectory you want your life to be on, whether you’ll be a lucky one with fire inside for something or just the beginning of fire, little sparks, and not someone who can’t think of a thing in the world he wants to do on that open Saturday morning. The adult world is filled with people who are lost to themselves because they never figured this out. Maybe the infamous mid-life crisis is a delayed attempt to find a mastery project.

So, that’s the idea behind the mastery program. Discover something meaningful. Chase it for a while. Chase it in depth and with crazy zeal. At its highest level mastery will involve in-depth projects or portfolios or performances or what we might call mastery experiments that reflect your journey, the path you followed a while. These projects or experiments will reflect a lot of experiences, a lot of interactions with people and with books or films or other media, or even other cultures—China comes to mind—and then you produce something that shows you’ve really given yourself over to one thing for a long period of time. You tell us about that journey, whether it involved politics or shoe design or playwriting or something entrepreneurial or music production or filmmaking or community engagement or cosmology or math, or something so quirky and interdisciplinary we can’t even conceive of it until you describe it to us. Something made you stand out in the rain, something woke you up on Saturday mornings, something absorbed your best attention over a long period of time. And you’ll share it with us. We’ll probably be dazzled. But you won’t really care about that, because the reward for you will have been in the process of finding and expressing something that held your attention for all the right reasons.

I think that’s probably more than enough for now. The school is excited about mastery. So am I. It’s an incredible opportunity Avenues is offering you. I remember the first hint I had in high school that I might want to be a writer. I was reading novels that seemed to me to matter more than anything else in the world. They were on a different plane of existence for me. I saw the world through a new set of eyes, and it was thrilling. And while I was a good student and did all my work across the board, whenever I had time, whenever I could, I wasn’t pushing on with economics or science, I was reading novels. I remember taking Moby-Dick to a wedding one time, to read before things started. Something in me was stirring, and I had no idea whatsoever what to do with that. Mastery exists to give you space, support and advice on what to do with things that feel like they’re moving inside you and like they might lead to something interesting, even if you don’t yet know what that will be. That’s probably why I took on this job. The most important thing that happened to me in high school was my discovery of powerful fiction. I could have used a mastery program. The most important thing to you will be something else. But there are ways to give that tiny fire lots of oxygen, and that’s what I hope we can do for you. So, some Saturday morning in your next two or three or four years, may you stand in a downpour in Central Park staring at a piece of earth, wondering how to draw it.”

Find out more

Careers

Find your future at Avenues: join the growing team that’s redefining K-12 education around the world.

OPEN.ed

Explore timely insights into global education from our campuses on three continents.

Get in Touch

View our directory of contacts, including Avenues’ headquarters and our global campuses.

arrow

back to top

Avenues Logo

Headquarters

FIND OUT MORE

粤ICP备19019923号-1